I Think Of A Future…

I think of a future where the color of your skin will not be used to determine who or what you are but skills, ideas and leadership qualities and everything will be determined by merit. I think of a future where positive images of Africa will be projected to the whole world. I think of a future where Africans will own their own success stories and not by outsiders. I think of a future where our children will have three nutritious square meals a day, access to better education and better health care. I think of a future where we will stop behaving like the vulture that vows to build its nest after the rains but forgets about it the moment the rain stops. I think of a future where people will stop dumping rubbish into the drains and wait till the rains set in for floods to wreak havoc before these drains are desilted.

I think of a future where our city authorities and planners will plan our cities, towns and villages with proper drainage systems so that when the rains start falling we will not hear the popular refrain “the government should come to our aid”. I think of a future where civil service employees will not take bribes before locating your files or documents. I think of a future where government employees will stop pretending to be working and the government will also stop pretending to be paying them. I think of a future where you can apply for your passport, birth certificate, driving license and other documents online so as to minimize human contact as low as possible. I think of a future where there will be a policy that will ensure that government appointees including Ministers of State will send their children to public schools right from the basic level to the tertiary level. I think of a future where government officials will not fly out to seek medical care abroad when sick but will ensure a good healthcare system in our country. I think of a future where our governments will stop running a “family and friends” government.

I think of a future where recruitment into the various security services will be devoid of fraudsters and greedy security personnel who extort money from potential recruits. I think of a future where voters will vote based on policies and their conscience rather than the money given to them by politicians. I think of a future where government officials will accept responsibility for their mistakes and resign rather than indulge in politics of equalization. I think of a future where contracts will be properly awarded to competent companies rather than they being awarded due to their ties to the party in government. I think of a future where corruption will be reduced to the barest minimum if not totally eradicated from this country.

I think of a future where Africa will unite and stop the neocolonialists in their tracks. I think of a future where Africa will be really independent politically, economically and socially. A future where our leaders will not kowtow to the whims and caprices of the western powers. A future where Africa will add value to her natural resources and make sure her people benefit fully. An Africa devoid of wars, conflicts, drought and famine. A future where Africa will speak with one voice against the imperialists. A future where African leaders will not extend their stay in office but exit when the applause is loud. What are your thoughts about the future? Kindly share them with me in your comments.

Leave a Reply

